Skip to main content
WVU has extended alternative delivery of classes through the end of the semester. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest updates and view a message from President Gee at go.wvu.edu/wvucovid.

Opening and Closing Dates

Residence Hall Opening & Closing Dates

SPRING 2020

Spring Semester Opening

University residence halls open – Saturday, January 11, 2020 at noon

Spring Recess

University residence halls close – Friday, March 13, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

University residence halls reopen – Sunday, March 22, 2020 at noon

Move Out/Closing

University residence halls close – Saturday, May 9, 2020 at noon


FALL 2020/Spring 2021;

Move-In/Opening

Friday, August 14, 2020 – Honors students may move into University housing. (Some students may move in early if they are part of a WVU-affiliated program (including Honors) that require students to be on campus prior to the official move-in day. If a student is eligible for early move-in, they will receive notice from a representative of the program.) 

Saturday, August 15, 2020, all students may move into University housing. 

Welcome Week

Saturday, August 15, 2020 – Saturday, August 22, 2020

Thanksgiving Recess

University residence halls close – Friday, November 20, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

University residence halls reopen – Sunday, November 29, 2020 at noon

Fall Semester Closing

University residence halls close – Saturday, December 21, 2019 at noon

Spring Semester Opening

University residence halls open – Saturday, January 9, 2021 at noon

Spring Recess

University residence halls close – Friday, March 12, 2021 at 7:00 p.m.

University residence halls reopen – Sunday, March 21, 20201 at noon

Move Out/Closing

University residence halls close – Saturday, May 8, 2021 at noon

** All students are expected to vacate their rooms within 24 hours of their last exam or on the  times and dates indicated above (whichever comes first). If you anticipate difficulty meeting  the  departure time due to travel schedules, you must contact your Residence Hall Coordinator  no later than one week prior to the closing date to see if alternate arrangements can be made.